Russia Channel One Tourney Returns

The Russia Channel One Tournament will be held for the third time in Israel from January 23-31. According to tournament director Alexei Spirin, the six competing soccer clubs will be split into two groups of three teams each. CSKA Moscow, Shaktar Donetsk and Beitar Jerusalem will play in one groups while Dynamo Kiev, Spartak Moscow and Red Star Belgrade will be in the other. The competition, which is sponsored by the Russian Football Academy - a product of Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich - will open in Jerusalem with a match between Beitar and Shaktar Donetsk on January 23. The official opening ceremony will be held the following day at Bloomfield Stadium, before the match between Dynamo Kiev and Spartak Moscow. A total purse of $2 million will be awarded, including $1 million to the tournament's winner.