Prof. Menachem Yaari to Head Science Academy

Professor Menachem Yaari was elected president of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities. At its general meeting yesterday, the academy also elected Prof. Ruth Arnon as vice-president and Prof. Alexander Levitzky as chairman of the natural science division, each for a three year term.

Born in Jerusalem in 1935, Yaari completed his bachelor's degree in economics and philosophy at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1958, and received his doctorate at Stanford University in California in 1962. From 1962-67, Yaari was on the faculty of Yale University, and since 1967 he has been a faculty member at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Yaari became a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities in 1991. He is the winner of the 1987 Israel Prize in economics and the 1994 Rothschild Prize in the social sciences.

Among his public activities, Yaari was a member of the government's commission of inquiry into the killings at the Cave of the Patriarchs in Hebron. He also published a number of ground-breaking studies in economic theory, especially on decision-making in conditions of uncertainty, models of saving, the theory of fair allocation and the philosophical bases of economics.

In addition to the three newly elected officers, the three remaining members of the academy's council will continue to serve: outgoing president Jacob Ziv, humanities chair Prof. Benjamin Z. Kedar and academy director-general Dr. Meir Zadok.