United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates is a federal absolute monarchy sovereign state.  It borders Oman, Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Iran. The official religion of the UAE is Islam. There are more Sunni than Shi'ite Muslims.

The country is a federation of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain. Each emirate is governed by an absolute monarch, and together they form the Federal Supreme Council.

The UAE's oil reserves are the seventh-largest in the world. However, the country has started to become less reliant on oil and gas than in previous years and has shifted its economic focus towards business and tourism.