The Knesset (Hebrew for assembly) is the Israeli parliament, or legislative body, and is located in western Jerusalem. The unicameral parliament consists of 120 lawmakers, known as Knesset members or MKs, each chosen to represent their respective political parties for terms lasting no longer than four years between elections.

Among its functions, the Knesset enacts laws, supervises the work of the government, and reserves the power to remove the president and the state comptroller from office. It can also vote to dissolve itself and call new elections.

The first Israeli parliament convened on February 14, 1949, although it was not yet known as the Knesset. On February 16, the Constituent Assembly, as it was then called, ratified the Transition Law, thereby changing its name to the First Knesset, and elected Chaim Weizmann as the first president of the State of Israel.

The Knesset has been addressed by countless heads of state throughout the years. Undoubtedly one of the most memorable of these occasions came on November 20, 1977, when then Egyptian president Anwar Sadat took the plenum and addressed Israeli lawmakers, calling for peace between Israel and Egypt.