Iran nuclear deal

The Iran nuclear deal is a 2015 agreement aimed at dismantling Iran's nuclear program, and ensuring that it is used only for civilian purposes. The Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) was signed between Iran, the six P5+1 countries, which include the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council: United States, United Kingdom, Russia, France and China, plus Germany and the European Union, on April 2, 2015 in Lausanne, Switzerland. In return, the United Nations' sanctions on the country were lifted, freeing up tens of billions of dollars in oil revenue and frozen assets.

The U.S. president is required by Congress to certify every 90 days that Iran is complying with the deal.