The Eurovision Song Contest is the longest-running annual international TV contest of all time. Since the inauguration in 1956, the contest has been broadcast every year.

There are over 40 countries eligible to compete, some, like Israel, are not part of the European Union. Each partaking country submits one original song to be performed on live television, and then votes for the other countries' songs to determine the countries winning entry. The winner of Eurovision is determined through two semi-finals. 

Traditionally, six countries are automatically pre-qualified for the Grand Final; this is the "Big Five"- France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom, along with the hosting country of each year. The remaining countries take part in one of the two semi-finals, and from each semi-final, the best ten will proceed to the grand finale, making a total of 26 participants in each grand finale. Then the winner is voted in by the public.