J Street Elects National Student Leadership

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
J Street U President Benjy Cannon speaks at the J Street conference, March 22, 2015.Credit: Flickr / Moshe Zusman

J Street's student arm selected seven Jewish students to lead its campus activities, the pro-peace lobby announced Monday in a statement.

The election of the lobby's sixth national student board - which outlines the student arm's national and regional strategy - was undertaken by the J Street leadership during its annual summer summit.

Amna Farooqi, from University of Maryland, was elected president of the national board after previously serving as the co-chair for the group's national conference. According to the statement, she interned with J Street's Jerusalem branch and spent a semester in Jerusalem, studying Hebrew and Political Science at the Hebrew University.

In addition to Farooqi, six other regional leaders were selected.

Ellie Boswell, a junior at Yale, was elected vice president for the mid-Atlantic region. In the past she interned in Israel as well and trained with a dance troupe in Israel and Jordan.

Hannah Nayowith, from Carleton College, will lead J Street U's Midwest region. She spent two months living in the West Bank, researching Palestinian women.  

Tali deGroot, a senior from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was selected vice president for the Southeast region.

Zoe Goldblum, a sophomore at Stanford University, was selected to lead the group's Northwest region. Elie Leaderman-Bray, a senior from University of Massachusetts, will lead the Northeast region.

Lizzie Stein, a senior at Occidental College, was selected vice president for the southwest region.

Click the alert icon to follow topics: