Israeli Publisher Keter Names PR Director to Chief Editor's Post

Keter is one of Israel's largest publishers and its most prominent publisher of contemporary Hebrew literature; it has published authors including Amos Oz and Sayed Kashua.

The public relations manager of Keter Books, Einat Niv, has been appointed chief editor of the publishing house.

Niv will replace Iris Mor, who was recently appointed head of the Tel Aviv municipality's culture department.

Einat Niv.

Niv served as Keter's PR manager for four years, after working as a journalist for Maariv and serving as deputy editor of La'Isha magazine. She has a degree in general literature and a BA from Tel Aviv University.

"I see the job as a huge personal and professional challenge," Niv said yesterday. "Keter is a wonderful publishing house with superb editors and first rate authors."

Keter CEO Yiftah Dekel said, "Niv demonstrated a deep understanding in literary content, management and publication processes, so no one was a more natural candidate for the job. I am sure she will lead Keter successfully."

Keter is one of Israel's largest publishers and its most prominent publisher of contemporary Hebrew literature. It releases some 100 books a year. Its contemporary Israeli authors include Amos Oz, Aharon Appelfeld, Alona Kimhi, Sayed Kashua, Savyon Liebrecht, Yoel Hoffmann, Tom Segev, Dror Borstein, Shulamit Lapid, Moshe Sakal, Zeruya Shalev and Tami Arad.

Keter has published numerous translated works, including those of Paul Auster, Paolo Coelho, Sandor Marai, Haruki Murakami, Boris Pasternak, Philip Pulman, Salman Rushdie, W.G. Sebald, Susan Sontag, Donna Tartt, and Mario Vargas Llosa.

Niv said she is aware of the ongoing crisis in which the publishing industry is mired. "Even in these years, in which the book market is in a regretful yet challenging situation, Keter has not compromised and continued to publish high quality books," Niv said.

Keter also said yesterday it appointed a new marketing director, Dan Winokur. Niv's position as PR manager will be filled by Omri Horesh.