Israel Among 43 Nations to Be Eligible for India's New E-visa

Israel included in first phase of Indian initiative to issue paperless visas to visitors, Business Standard reports.

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Travelers walking in Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport in Mumbai, India, March 8, 2012.Credit: Bloomberg

India phasing in Tourist Visa on Arrival program, which will eventually be open to almost all of the 180 countries which host its diplomatic mission

Israel will be among 43 countries in the first phase of India's new program to issue electronic visas to visitors with which it has diplomatic relations, Business Standard announced Wednesday.

The list will be issued Thursday, as is expected to include most European Union states, as well as Russia, South Africa, Turkey, Oman, Argentina and Kazakhstan. The previous Indian government earlier this year announced the proposal for the Electronic Travel Authorization, which enables the Tourist Visa on Arrival without having to issue a physical visa.

According to Business Standard, visitors from all but eight countries that host India's diplomatic mission will eventually be eligible for the e-visa, the exceptions being Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Sudan.

Over 48,000 visitors from Israel arrived in India in 2011, according to statistics from the Indian Ministry of Tourism, accounting for 0.76% of all foreign tourists in the subcontinent nation.