Trio of Winners at Gaash’s Club Championships

Ashley Silber survives second-day slide to take men’s division

Shmulik Futeran
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Shmulik Futeran

Gaash Golf Club’s 2013 championships produced three winners this week: Ashley Silber in the men’s division, Adrienne Biberstein in the ladies division and Eddy Hoffman in Super Seniors.

Playing on well prepared greens and fairways, the first day was held in perfect weather conditions with the final round played in strong winds and also some rain.

Silber finished the first day with the best score of the tournament, a four-over-par 74. He slipped a little on the second day but still managed to be the champion, with Steve Taylor the runner up. The net prizes in the A division went to Jonathan Stutson, followed by Zalman Shahaff.

The champion in the B division was Lionel Phillips, followed by Shmulik Almagor. Allan Blumenstyk took the net prize, with Dani Levin placing second. The champion in the C division was Rotem Yakir, while Eli Chitayat captured second place. The net prizes went to Lavi Gur, followed by Alan Gelman.

Biberstein became the Gaash Golf Club Ladies Champion for 2013, while the runner-up was Judy Reefe. The winner of the net scores in the ladies went to Norma Kaufman, followed by Ophra Dagan.

In the Super Senior division, Yaacov Deutch finished behind Hoffman, the champion. Brian Mehl grabbed first place in the net scores for the super seniors, followed by club captain Avi Dagan.

In the special 18-hole stableford tournament for golfers aged 70 and over, Roz Brodie won with 37 stableford points.

Nearest to the pin prizes went to Eli Abramov, Anthony Harris, Zalman Shahaff, Raphy Harroche, Howard Ross, Dave Haskel, Norma Kaufman, Lavi Gur and Yeruham Shafat.

In other action, Norma Kaufman scored a hole-in-one while playing last week in the Israel Open.

Click the alert icon to follow topics: