Lawn Bowls / Ra'anana, Ramat Gan Split Honors

Running true to form, Ra'anana teams swept the board in the men's competitions when Israel's annual interclub lawn bowls league concluded at the weekend. Ramat Gan was equally dominant and took top honors in the women's competitions.

In the men's Premier league, all eight of Israel's clubs participated with either one or two teams of triples in a round robin tournament of 13 rounds of nine ends each. Each win earned two points and one for a tie.

At the start of the day's three final rounds, the competition was wide open among the four leaders. It was the Ra'anana team of Zvika Hadar, Gordon Silberstein and David Trappler who claimed the league title with 20 points, just one ahead of Ramat Gan and Haifa, and two ahead of Kiryat Ono.

Men bowlers also competed in the lower ranking Pennant, in which each club was allowed to enter up to four teams of triples. For Ra'anana it was a clean sweep with their four teams occupying the top four slots - their winning squad was Israel Meushar, Eli Shalev, (Gerald Sacks ), Kobi Hadar, (David Meushar ) and Lior Leviner.

In the women's league, bowling clubs were allowed to enter up to a maximum of four teams of triples, and the 11 round competition ended with the three Ramat Gan teams occupying the top three slots. The winning trio were Yael Bar-Ner, Riri Merav, (Yehudit Goldstein ) and Rivka Salinger.