Israel Bars Citizens From Traveling to India, Turkey and Other 'Red' Countries

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Israel's Ben-Gurion International Airport, this week.
Israel's Ben-Gurion International Airport, this week. Credit: Hadas Parush

The Israeli government barred Friday its citizens from traveling to seven 'red' countries, where coronavirus infection rates are high.

Apart from special cases, Israeli citizens will not be allowed to travel to Ukraine, Brazil, Ethiopia, South Africa, India, Mexico and Turkey. This regulation, proposed by Israel's Health Ministry, will go into effect on May 3 and remian in place until May 16.

Those who are not Israeli citizens will be able to travel to those countries only if they plan to reside there permanently. The regulation will not apply to those who have stayed at airports in one of these countries for a time period of up to 12 hours while waiting for a connecting flight.

In addition, the government has authorized the health and interior ministers to appoint representatives from their ministries to head the committee reviewing special cases and an appeals committee.

Furthermore, the Health Ministry is proposing that those returning from the aforementioned countries enter mandatory quarantine – even if they are vaccinated or have recovered from the coronavirus – for two weeks.

Those who have received two negative COVID-19 tests would have to enter a 10-day quarantine.  These restrictions are also expected to go into effect on May 3, but are subject to the approval of the Knesset's Arrangements Committee, which is in charge of dealing with legislation during the interim period between an election and the formation of a new government. 

Click the alert icon to follow topics: