Israel's Biggest Gov't Ever Takes Oath: The Complete List of Ministers

Prime Minister Netanyahu's new government has 36 ministers and 16 deputy ministers ■ Benny Gantz set to replace him in 18 months

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu's new government is being sworn in on Sunday, capping more than a year of political deadlock in Israel, with three back-to-back election cycles.

Netanyahu has succeeded in forming a government, which would have 36 ministers and 16 deputy ministers, making it the biggest in Israel's history. Netanyahu's trial for suspected bribery, fraud and breach of trust will commence in seven days, on May 24.

After 18 months, the government will enter its second term, and the prime ministers will rotate. After Benny Gantz becomes premier, some of the ministers will switch jobs as well.

These are the appointments confirmed or reported so far:

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu (Likud)

Defense Minister (second term: Prime Minister) Benny Gantz (Kahol Lavan)

Foreign Affairs Minister (second term: Defense Minister) Gabi Ashkenazi (Kahol Lavan)

Finance Minister Yisrael Katz (Likud)

Justice Minister Avi Nissenkorn (Kahol Lavan)

Public Security Minister Amir Ohana (Likud)

Health Minister Yuli Edelstein (Likud)

Transportation Minister (second term: Foreign Minister) Miri Regev (Likud)

Education Minister Yoav Gallant (Likud)

Tourism Minister Asaf Zamir (Kahol Lavan)

Negev and Galilee Development Minister and Interior Minister Arye Dery (Shas)

Economy Minister Amir Peretz (Labor)

Housing and Construction Minister Yaakov Litzman (United Torah Judaism)

Labor, Social Affairs and Social Services Minister Itzik Shmuli (Labor)

Strategic Affairs Minister Orit Farkash-Hacohen (Kahol Lavan)

Communications Minister Yoaz Hendel (Derech Eretz)

Energy Minister Yuval Steinitz (Likud)

Environmental Protection Minister Zeev Elkin (Likud)

Immigrant Absorption Minister Pnina Tamano-Shata (Kahol Lavan)

Culture and Sports Minister Chili Tropper (Kahol Lavan)

Social Equality Minister Meirav Cohen (Kahol Lavan)

Diaspora Affairs Minister Omer Yankelevich (Kahol Lavan)

Agriculture Minister Alon Schuster (Kahol Lavan)

Community Development Minister Orli Levi-Abekasis (Gesher)

Religious Services Minister Yaakov Avitan (Shas)

Jerusalem Affairs Minister Rafi Peretz (Habayit Hayehudi)

Science and Technology Minister Izhar Shay (Kahol Lavan)

Settlement Affairs Minister Tzipi Hotovely (Likud), to be replaced with Tzachi Hanegbi (Likud) for the second term

Regional Cooperation Minister Ofir Akunis (Likud)

Intelligence Affairs Minister Eli Cohen (Likud)

Environmental Protection Minister Gila Gamliel (Likud)

Higher Education and Water Resources Minister (second term: Transportation Minister) Zeev Elkin (Likud)

Minister in the Defense Ministry Michael Biton (Kahol Lavan)

Minister David Amsalem (Likud), responsible for liaison between the cabinet and the Knesset



Automatic approval of subscriber comments.

Subscribe today and save 40%

Already signed up? LOG IN


Trump and Netanyahu at the White House in Washington, in 2020.

Three Years Later, Israelis Find Out What Trump Really Thought of Netanyahu

German soldier.

The Rival Jewish Spies Who Almost Changed the Course of WWII

Rio. Not all Jewish men wear black hats.

What Does a Jew Look Like? The Brits Don't Seem to Know

Galon. “I’m coming to accomplish a specific mission: to increase Meretz’s strength and ensure that the party will not tread water around the electoral threshold. If Meretz will be large enough, it will be the basis for a Jewish-Arab partnership.” Daniel Tchetchik

'I Have No Illusions About Ending the Occupation, but the Government Needs the Left'

Soldiers using warfare devices made by the Israeli defense electronics company Elbit Systems.

Russia-Ukraine War Catapults Israeli Arms Industry to Global Stage

Flame and smoke rise during an Israeli air strike, amid Israel-Gaza fighting, in Gaza City August 6, 2022.

Israel Should End Gaza Operation Now, if It Can