Weizmann Professors Claim Israel Prize in Chemistry and Physics

Meir Lahav and Leslie Leiserowitz’s joint research forms basis for understanding processes in nature that are used as scientific foundation for the future development of drugs.

Yarden Skop
Yarden Skop
Israeli Education Minister Naftali Bennett, who also serves as chairman of the Council for Higher Education, in January 2016.
Bennett, who is also chairman of the CHE. "If nobody in the government cares whether higher education deteriorates, the damage will be done," said Prof. Feitelson.Credit: Alex Kolomoisky
Yarden Skop
Yarden Skop

The Israel Prize laureates in chemistry and physics for 2016 are Prof. Meir Lahav and Prof. Leslie Leiserowitz of the Weizmann Institute of Science. The announcement was made last Thursday by Education Minister Naftali Bennett, who accepted the recommendation of the prize jury, headed by Prof. Itamar Willner.

The jury cited the pair’s joint breakthroughs in understanding the processes of self-assembly of chiral structures, similar to the property of the materials in nature. In their joint research over the years, Lahav and Leiserowitz succeeded in deciphering the chemical mechanisms of the formation of these materials.

The two researchers have won broad international recognition for their joint achievements, and their research forms the basis for understanding processes in nature that are used as a scientific foundation for the future development of drugs.

Leiserowitz is a professor emeritus of the Weizmann Institute. Throughout his scientific career he focused on key problems of solid-state chemistry, including stereochemistry; chemical reactions in a crystal state; and the design of 3-D reactions. He has received several awards, including the Weizmann Institute’s Ernst David Bergmann Prize, the Prelog Gold Medal from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences’ Gregori Aminoff Prize. In addition, he was elected to Leopoldina (the German Academy of Sciences).

Lahav, also from the Weizmann Institute, has also earned great international recognition for his groundbreaking work. His past awards include the Prelog Gold Medal, the first prize of the Israel Chemical Society and the Gregori Aminoff Prize.

Lahav also won the Chirality Medal instituted by the Italian Chemical Society, and both he and Leiserowitz were awarded the Israel Chemical Society’s Prize for the Outstanding Scientist in 1999.

Click the alert icon to follow topics:



Automatic approval of subscriber comments.

Subscribe today and save 40%

Already signed up? LOG IN


נתניהו עם כיפה שחורה על הראש נשען בשתי ידיו על הכותל

Israel Is Heading for Its Most 'Jewish' Election Ever

An El Al jet sits on the tarmac at John C. Munro International Airport in Hamilton, Thursday, in 2003.

El Al to Stop Flying to Toronto, Warsaw and Brussels

FILE PHOTO: A Star of David hangs from a fence outside the dormant landmark Tree of Life synagogue in Pittsburgh's Squirrel Hill neighborhood in 2021.

American Judaism Is in Decline. That's Great News for American Jews

Crowds at Israel's Ben-Gurion International Airport, in April.

U.S. Official: West Bank Entry for Palestinian Americans Unrelated to Israeli Visa Waivers

Haaretz spoke with several people who said they had fled Ukraine, arrived in Israel,  and were asked to undergo DNA tests in order to establish paternity.

'My Jewish Grandmother Has a Number on Her Arm, Why Does Israel Greet Me This Way?'

People taking part in the annual "March of the Living" to commemorate the Holocaust, between the former death camps of Auschwitz and Birkenau in Oswiecim, Poland, four years ago.

It’s Not Just the Holocaust. Israel Is Failing to Teach the History of the Jews