Haaretz Columnist Wins Excellence in Journalism Award

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Allison Kaplan Sommer.
Allison Kaplan Sommer.Credit: Haim Taragan

Haaretz columnist Allison Kaplan Sommer was awarded the B’nai B’rith World Center Award for Journalism Recognizing Excellence in Diaspora Reportage on Thursday.

The Times of Israel's Jewish World editor, Amanda Borschel-Dan, was co-winner of the award, and veteran Israeli journalist Yaakov Ahimeir won a Lifetime Achievement Award.

B'nai B'rith World Center director Alan Schneider noted that the prize winners are outstanding journalists whose coverage of the Jewish Diaspora and Israel-Diaspora relations is characterized by its professionalism and dedication.  

The B’nai B’rith World Center Award for Journalism is named for the late Wolf Matsdorf, former editor of the B’nai B’rith World Center journal “Leadership Briefing” and a journalist in Israel and Australia, and his wife the late Hilda Matsdorf, a pioneer in social work in both Australia and Israel.

Previous award winners include Haaretz reporters Judy Maltz and Anshel Pfeffer.

Since its establishment in 1992, the B’nai B’rith World Center Award for Journalism has recognized excellence in reportage on contemporary Diaspora Jewish communities and on the state of Israel-Diaspora relations today in the Israeli print and electronic media. The B'nai B'rith World Center Award is widely acknowledged in the media industry as the most prestigious prize in its field in Israel.

The members of the award jury were: Asher Weill (chair,) Prof. Yehudith Auerbach, Shalom Kital, Prof. Gabriela Shalev and Bambi Sheleg.

See here for examples of Allison Kaplan Sommer's work - or follow her on Twitter:

Click the alert icon to follow topics: