Polish Activist, Israeli Holocaust Scholar Among Dan David Prize Winners for 2014

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail

The Dan David Foundation announced on Tuesday the 2014 laureates of the Dan David Prize, which has been awarded since 2002 for achievements having an outstanding scientific, technological, cultural or social impact.

The winners this year are Polish writer and activsit Krzysztof Czyzewski,  French historian Pierre Nora, Israeli Holocaust scholar Saul Friedlander, British molecular geneticist John A. Hardy, British-Canadian geneticist and physician Peter St. George-Hyslop, British neuropsychologist Brenda Milner, and American cognitive scientist Marvin Minsky.

The $3 million international prize is divided among winners in three time dimensions: past, present and future. The winners then donate 10 percent of their prize money to graduate and post-graduate students in their own fields, both in Israel and abroad.

Last year, the prize was awarded to Leon Wieseltier, a prominent American Jew who serves as literary editor of The New Republic; Prof. Esther Duflo, a French economist who studies poverty in the Third World; and Michel Serres, a French scholar whose work on the atrocities of war has helped seal his reputation as one of the greatest French philosophers living today.

The winners will be honored at a ceremony on May 18, 2014, at Tel Aviv University.

Dan David Prize.
Brenda Milner
Saul Friedlander.Credit: Courtesy