Uruguay Joins South American Nations in Recognizing Palestinian Statehood

Statement does not explicitly recognize state within 1967 borders; declaration joins similar statements by, among others, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador and Paraguay.

Uruguay has joined a string of South American nations in recognizing an independent Palestinian state.

A Foreign Ministry statement says Uruguay has communicated its decision to the Palestinian Authority.

Mahmoud Abbas

However the statement does not explicitly say whether the country recognizes
Palestine's borders predating the Six-Day War of 1967, when Israel captured the West Bank and Gaza.

Foreign Ministry officials declined Tuesday to clarify the matter.

More than a half-dozen countries in South America have recognized Palestine recently, though in different ways.

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador and Paraguay recognized the pre-1967 borders.

Chile and Peru said the issue must be worked out between Israelis and Palestinians.