Cabinet Votes Galant in as Next IDF Chief of Staff

Maj. Gen. Yoav Galant voted as 20th IDF chief in wake of scandal which aimed to tie him with an alleged PR to advance his candidacy.

The government approved Sunday the nomination of Maj. Gen. Yoav Galant as the next Israel Defense Forces chief of staff, with only Likud minister Michael Eitan objecting.

Yoav Galant - Archive

Galant's name has frequently appeared in the press in the last few weeks as a result of the media storm which rose in the of the so-called Galant document controversy, involving a document which purported to outline a PR campaign for Galant as part of his efforts to become the next IDF chief.

A police investigation cleared Galant of any involvement in the document, which has since been deemed as a fake, with a former top IDF officer arrested on forgery charges.

Speaking on the occasion of Galan'ts nomination in Sunday's cabinet meeting, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said that the incoming IDF chief has "proven his worth during his 33 years of military service at the IDF's frontlines."

"He's proven himself to be a courageous fighter, an excellent officer, and a responsible and serious battle commander," the PM said, adding Galant picked up on a legacy of "dedication and excellence " bequeathed by incumbent IDF chief Gabi Ashkenazi.

While most cabinet members voted for the nomination, as was excepted, a few exceptions were noted. Noteworthy among them was that of Improvement of Government Services Minister Michael Eitan, who objected over the alleged behavior of the incoming IDF chief in a property despite in his local Amikam.

Two other exceptions to the overall approval were Deputy PM Moshe Ya'alon, who refused to take part in the vote in protest of the lack of debate over Defense Minister Ehud Barak's choice of IDF chief, along with Social Affairs Minister Isaac Herzog who, while voting for the nomination, too voiced his objection of its swiftness.

The cabinet also approved Barak's proposal, according to which Galant would serve for three years, giving the defense minister power to grant a fourth.