Kenyan Takes First Place at 34th Annual Tiberias Marathon

Stephen Chemlany wins the Tiberias Marathon with a time of 2:10:02.

Kenyan runner Stephen Chemlany won the 34th annual Tiberias Marathon yesterday, making it across the finish line after 2:10:02. Frenchman Patrick Tambe Ngoie captured second place, finishing seven seconds behind the leader. Kenyas Julius Muriuki Wahome finished in third place.

Haile Satayin, Israels champion marathon runner, defended his title yesterday, becoming the first Israeli to cross the finish line. Satayin, who finished in 19th place overall, completed the course in 2:18:57. While the result put him in first among Israelis, it failed to reach the minimum threshold as determined by the Olympic Committee, meaning Satayin will not represent Israel in London.

Zohar Zamiro was the second Israeli to cross the finish line. He ended the race with a time of 2:21:33.

Ethiopian runner Abaynesh Sisay Arsi captured the womens crown. Habtamnesh Gashaw Mencho of Ethiopia came in second place and Megra Woldesemayat Bikila, also of Ethiopia, came in third.

The first Israeli woman to complete the race was Yaara Zangi, the Israeli champion whose victory caps a lifelong dream that was initially derailed by a lengthy battle with anorexia and injuries.