In Wake of Israeli Election, Almost Half of Knesset Wiped Out

Send in e-mailSend in e-mail
Send in e-mailSend in e-mail

Almost half of the current members of the Knesset will not return for another term. Tuesday's election will put new politicians in 53 of the Knesset’s 120 seats, a relatively high number in historical terms. Sources in the Knesset estimate that about a third of the Knesset is typically replaced in an election.

The Likud will part with Dan Meridor, Benny Begin and Michael Eitan, as well as Moshe Kahlon, who resigned from the Likud ticket before the elections. According to the current election results, the chairman of the Knesset's Economic Affairs Committee, Carmel Shama-Hacohen, and Allali Admaso, who was sworn in just days before the election, will not make the cut, nor will deputy ministers Ayoob Kara and Lea Nass.

Yisrael Beiteinu lost six Knesset members: Alex Miller, who still might enter if Likud Beiteinu gains another seat, deputy minister Daniel Ayalon, who was removed by Yisrael Beiteinu leader, Avigdor Leiberman, and Moshe Matalon, Anastassia Michaeli, Stas Misezhnikov and Lia Shemtov.

Kadima, the largest party in the current Knesset lost most of its Knesset members: Doron Avital, Nino Abesadze (who joined Labor, but wasn't elected), Ruhama Avraham Balila, Yaakov Jacob Edery, Dalia Itzik, Arye Bibi, Zeev Bielski, Roni Bar-On, Ahmad Dabah, Avraham Duan, Akram Hasoon, Shai Hermesh, Marina Solodkin, Yohanan Plesner, Yuval Zellner, Yulia Shamalov Berkovich (who headed the failed Kalkaka party), Otniel Schneller and Ronit Tirosh. Yoel Hasson, Robert Tiviaev, Shlomo Molla, Majali Wahabi, Orit Zuaretz and Rachel Adatto, all failed to be elected after switching to Tzipi’s Livni’s Hatnuah party.

Three of the current eight Labor Knesset members are packing their bags: Daniel Ben Simon, Raleb Majadele and Yoram Martziano, who was recently sworn in as a replacement for Amir Peretz and announced his support for Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu soon thereafter.

They are being joined by the five members of former Defense Minister Ehud Barak's Atzmaut party, who didn't even attempt to run in the elections: Shachiv Shnaan and Einat Wilf, ministers Orit Noked and Shalom Shimhon and, of course, Barack himself. Habayit Hayehudi will bid farewell to Zevulun Orlev and Daniel Hershkowitz.

National Union Knesset member Yaakov Katz will depart, as will Aryeh Eldad and Michael Ben Ari, who failed to be elected as part of Otzma Leyisrael. Rabbi Chaim Amsellem had hoped to make an unexpected electoral splash, but failed to pass the threshold. Talab al-Sana failed to secure a seat as the head of the Mada party.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu in an empty Knesset.Credit: Reuters

Click the alert icon to follow topics: