Foreign Min. Names Nine New Diplomats

The appointments committee of the foreign service, chaired by Foreign Minister Tzipi Livni, yesterday selected nine new diplomatic envoys.

The nine, who will begin their terms in the summer, are all Foreign Ministry staffers. They are part of a major round of postings that has so far included 24 new ambassadors and consuls general.

The new ambassadors are: Avi Granot to Helsinki; Arthur Kol to Belgrade; Miron Reuven to Bogota and Yaakov Kedar to Nairobi; Two ambassadors will remain in Israel as non-resident envoys: Ehud Gol to Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Armenia, and Amira Arnon to Albania, Bosnia and Macedonia. Three new consuls general are Ofer Bavli in Miami; Yoram Elron in Montreal; and Simona Frankel in Marseille.