Bush Sr., Clinton Get Honorary Role at Israel's 60th Events

Two former United States presidents, George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton, will serve as honorary chairmen for the National Committee for Israel 60 that will organize celebrations for Israel's national anniversary.

The announcement was made Friday by the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations.

The chair and vice chair of the organization, June Walker and Malcolm Hoenlein, expressed their gratitude that two American leaders have agreed to head the committee.

The committee will organize events and ceremonies to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the establishment of the State of Israel, which will be held in the United States on May 8, 2008.

'A unique relationship'

Hoenlein emphasized the special character of the events that will celebrate the unique relationship between the U.S. and Israel.

He said that leaders and personalities from different walks of life and representing a variety of communities will join the committee in the near future.